FREEDOM APPLICATIONS COMMITTEE

1. Constitution

A Non-Ward Committee consisting of:-

- two Aldermen nominated by the Court of Aldermen
- one Member of the Policy and Resources Committee, appointed by that Committee
- the following ex-officio Members:
 - o the Chief Commoner
 - The immediate past Chief Commoner until the election by Common Council of his or her successor
 - The Chief Commoner designate once elected by Common Council
 - the Chairman and a Deputy Chairman of the Policy & Resources Committee (or, in their absence, a nominated representative of each Member)

2. Quorum

The quorum consists of any three Members.

3. Membership 2018/19

Sir David Wootton, Alderman Vincent Keaveny, Alderman

together with the Members referred to in paragraph 1 above.

4. Terms of Reference

- (a) To examine and report back on any applications for the Freedom referred to the Committee by the Court of Common Council;
- (b) To consider informally any non-livery nominations that may be referred to it, prior to their submission to the Court of Common Council:
- (c) To examine, consider, and report back on issues concerning the rules and principles relating to, and criteria for, the Freedom;
- (d) To consider matters relating to the general use of the Freedom, such as for City of London Corporation policy objectives;
- (e) To consider, and to provide guidance to Members of the Court of Common Council, and Livery Companies, on, the criteria for and processes relating to the award of the Freedom; and
- (f) To consider matters relating to the Honorary Freedom.